Revelation

July 17, 2008 at 4:38 pm | Posted in Christianity | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I hear it pretty often nowadays. The church is filled with people talking about it. You’ve gotta have it to move forward in your “Christian walk”. You can’t go on without it. You have to cry out for it. You have to do everything you can to get it because without it, your life will just be a shadow of what it could be. What am I talking about? 

Revelation.

I personally know a number of people that talk about it. They talk about how “God showed them” something in a vision or a dream. I hear church after church across the US talk about “walking in” revelation. They weep for it. They cry out for it. They clamor for it. They chase it with all that they have. So many people today seem to be “walking in it” that it a wonder that the nation has been turned up on its ear. I’ve heard of everything from visions and dreams about what’s to come to “face-to-face” encounters with God. Without wanting to be pessimistic or sound like a naysayer, I can’t help but wonder how much of this “revelation” is from God?

To be honest, I think that much of this talk is an offense to God. The desire for “revelation” seems to have become an idol for many Christians. I have been blessed with an understanding of a small part of God’s Word. I also have learned that God’s Word is the filter for everything in my life. On occasion I’ve been asked to visit a church. When they describe a normal service and I express some concern, they tell me that I could probably “pick apart the pastor’s sermon” but that I should “come to get some of the Spirit”. If I can pick apart a pastor’s sermon based on what little I know, then something’s wrong. That’s not to say that pastors don’t make mistakes because they do. The problem that I have with all these “revelation seekers” is that they seem to neglect one very important thing.

What about the revelation that God’s already given us? What about all of the wonderful things that He’s put into His Word and made readily available for those who are willing to spend the time to read and understand it? Scripture says that we are to “study to show ourselves approved so that we might not be ashamed” (2 Tim 2:15). It tells us that “all scripture is God-breathed and profitable for teaching, reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness”, so that we may “be equipped for every good work”. If that is the purpose of scripture, then why do so many continually ask God for more revelation? I’ve been studying the book of Genesis in-depth since the beginning of the year and I’ve just now made it to chapters 16-18. I’ve learned so much in just that little bit of scripture that I’m upset with myself for not starting sooner. I’m mad because I wasted so much time asking God for “new” revelation. We will never be able to learn all of the revelation that God has given us! And, by the looks of it, the church could stand to go back and read the scriptures they so casually say they obey. How can we not think that God finds this extremely offensive? God has written down for us everything that we need for “life and godliness” (2 Peter 1:3), and we turn our backs on it. Instead, we demand from God a “now word”. We expect that through whatever pattern or method we’ve been taught, God will just plunk down a “fresh revelation” that has never been seen or heard before (even though scripture says that there is nothing new under the sun – Eccl. 1:9). The more that I think about this, the more offended I get!

Who are we to ask our holy and just God to give us something else? Why should we want anything else when He’s given us everything? He has revealed Himself to us in scripture! How can we ask for more? How dare we demand of God like He’s some kind of Magic 8-ball and all we have to do is make our demands and then shake Him until it gives us the answer that we want to hear? I’m tired of hearing all of these people and there so-called visions. I’m tired of hearing about how they saw this or God “revealed” that. We need to get back into scripture and try to understand what God has already shown us. Until we have consumed all of what God’s given us, can we really handle any more?

Some will say that we need revelation for our lives. I agree, and I believe that God’s already made that revelation through His Word. We don’t need something “new” and “now” and “fresh”. What we need is something that will open our eyes to how far we’ve fallen, give us a spiritual whoopin’ like we’ve never had before, and then begin to guide us in how to truly be a Christian. We need to start and end with the Word of God. If the church would stop chasing after revelation and start reading the one that God’s already made, then we might see a lot of the things that we love to gripe about disappear. If you were to actually apply the revelation in scripture to your life, maybe your kids wouldn’t be so rebellious. Maybe your marriage wouldn’t be falling apart. Maybe your finances wouldn’t be messed up because you are living above your means. Maybe you would actually understand that you’re a sinner who needs salvation from hell and you would understand that it isn’t how many times you show up for church or how many nice things you do that will get you to heaven. Maybe, we’ll have people who profess Christ and have the lives to back it up…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just stumbled across your blog; I enjoyed your post… well said.

  2. Justin,

    Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate you taking the time to leave a message. If you don’t mind my asking, what about the post made it enjoyable?

    Thanks again!

    Mike


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

