An ultimatum for Liberty

December 1, 2007 at 9:28 am | Posted in Christianity | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Liberty Council of the Boy Scouts of America has been given an ultimatum in regards to their policy disallowing homosexual men from being involved in the organization. Philadelphia City Solicitor Romulo Diaz said that if they haven’t changed their policy by December 3rd that he will begin to look for others to replace them in the building they now rent. The Liberty Council currently rents the building for $1 a year, which is part of a perpetual agreement with the city of Philadelphia made in 1928. The Scouts national organization has had this policy in place since its inception.

Diaz said that if the Council could pay the market value rent for the building ($200,000), they could remain there.

I have already commented on this in another blog, but wanted to bring up a few things that I wasn’t aware of when I first wrote on this.

The Boy Scouts are actually the ones who built the building they now reside in. It was built by them in 1928 and then given to the city.

There are also a couple of considerations that I would like to point out. First, I was a Boy Scout from the time I was 8 years old (in the Cub Scouts) until I was 18 (as an Eagle Scout) and then stayed on as an adult leader until I was 21. Being involved in the Boy Scouts was a huge help for me because I was being raised by a single mother. It not only provided the instruction and guidance that I needed from male figures, but it allowed me to stay busy and not find my way into trouble. I am sure that if that was the case in my time as a Scout, then it is even more so today and even more necessary.

Second, it just takes a little common sense. Allowing a homosexual man into the Boy Scouts is like allowing a pedophile to run a daycare. It makes no sense. Why even allow that to be a possibility?

I am proud of the Boy Scouts for standing up for what they are, even though the Liberty Council tried to compromise a little. I believe that the Scouting organization is something that is desperately needed in today’s time and I admire and commend the men and women who take the time to do be a part of the lives of young men.

I am going to close this blog with the Scout Oath and Law. Any Christian should be able to read both and see just how important it is:

Scout Oath:

On my honor, I will do my best, to do my duty, to God and my country,

To obey the Scout Law, to help other people at all times,

To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law:

A Scout is:

Trustworthy

Loyal

Helpful

Friendly

Courteous

Kind

Obedient

Cheerful

Thrifty

Brave

Clean

Reverent

May God continue to bless the Scouts, young and old!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

